Course Open

A large turnout made their way to Woodbrook G.C. this year, the scene our formation as an association 50 years ago, to challenge once more for the President’s Prize. They came from Macroom, Letterkenny, Shannon, Galway, Mullingar, Portstewart, Cork, Wicklow and all other points
in between. The course was in great shape, having had the Captain’s qualifying on over the week
end and the scores reflected the challenge it presented. The average for the day seemed to hover
around 31/32 points, so a score of 38 points was deemed good enough to win and once again, it came as no surprise that Sean O’Neill took home yet another Presidents’ Prize. He was closely followed by Mike Corry(Shannon) and Ronan Smyth,(Old Conna) who both scored 37 points, Mike winning it on the back 9, while James Murphy(Lucan) scored 36. Noleen Quirke showed many how its done by coming home 5th with 34 points and Michael Walsh pipped Colin McInerney for 6th on the back 6. Sorry Colin!

The Visitors Prize was won in runaway fashion by Woodbrook Vice Captain Mark Walsh who scored a magnificent 41 points. Colm Diamond from Portstewart and Paul Fitzgerald from Castle were the other winners here. Our thanks to Jim Melody and the Captain & Committee at
Woodbrook for facilitating us in their usual friendly fashion and thanks too to Tom, Cass and the catering staff for a wonderful dinner.

Susan White, Business Development Manager with Premium Credit, was on hand to present the prizes and as there is no such thing as a free Dinner, she did ask those present to support her Fairway Credit scheme if at all possible. We must try and support our sponsors as best we can, as, if no support is forthcoming, then obviously we will lose our sponsors. So please do what you can for Susan, either directly or by referral.